CU Calicut University

University Logo

University: Calicut University

Address: Trishur - Calicut Road, Malappuram District, Thenhipalam, Kerala 673635

Phone: 0494 240 7227

Chancellor: P. Sathasivam

Courses: (BA) (BSc) (BCom) (BBA) (BCA) (BDS) (BHM) (BPE) (B.Pharm) (B.PEd) (BTHM) (BSW) (BMMC) (BTA) (B.LiSc) (BPT) (BHMS) (BASLP) (LLB) (LLM) (BTech) (B.Arch) (B.Ed) (MBBS) (M.A.) (M.Sc.) (M.Com) (MBA) (M.Sc) (MCA) (MTA) (MSW) (M.Ped) (MPD) (M.Tech) (MD) (M.Phar) (PG Diploma)

University Type: Public/Government

Total enrollment: 

Founded Year: 1968


Vice-chancellor: K. Mohammed Basheer

Affiliated Colleges:

  1. N.M.S.M.Govt. College
  2. St Mary's College
  3. Pazhassi Raja College
  4. WMO Arts & Science College
  5. Oriental School of Hotel Management
  6. Oriental College of Hotel Management and Culinary Arts
  7. Don Bosco College
  8. Green Mount Arts & Science College(Unaided)
  9. C.M. College of Arts & Science (Unaided),
  10. SNDP Yogam Arts & Science College (Unaided)
  11. Alphonsa Arts & Science College,
  12. Jayasree Arts and Science College,
  13. Eldho Mor Baselios Colleg
  14. Model College (Unaided)

The University of Calicut is the largest University in Kerala. Established in the year 1968, it is the second university to be set up in Kerala. The University aims to nurture excellence in education and research in its catchment areas of Northern Kerala, historically consigned to the periphery of Kerala’s academic map. The University lays on human resource and promoting productive research that benefit both local communities and wider humanity. The University was created through a Government plan bifurcating Kerala University. As per the plan, the four post-graduate departments of the University of Kerala operating in Calicut were annexed to the new University along with fifty four constituent colleges spread across seven northern districts. With ‘Nirmaya Karmana Sree’ as it motto, the University has been able to surmount all challenges and emerge as the largest residential cum affiliating University in Kerala. With 30 post graduate departments and 480 colleges it has become a beacon of hope and enlightenment for hundreds of thousands of young men and women in North Kerala.

The University campus, located at Tenhipalam, 24 km south of Calicut is the main hub of academic activities. Situated here besides the 28 postgraduate teaching and research departments are: the Vice-Chancellor’s Office, the Administration Block, Pareeksha Bhavan, School of Distance Education, Academic Staff College, Educational and Multimedia Research Centre, Computer Centre, and the University Library. The departments on the campus include Arabic, Botany, Biotechnology, Centre for Women Studies, Chemistry, Commerce & Management Studies, Computer Science, Education, English, Hindi, History, West Asian Studies, Mass Communication & Journalism, Life Science, Library and Information Science, Life Long Learning & Extension, Malayalam and Kerala Studies, Mathematics, Nano Science & Technology, Philosophy, Physics, Physical Education, Psychology, Russian & Centre for Comparative Literature, Sanskrit, School of Folklore Studies, Statistics, and Zoology.

This web-page provides all information and data of Calicut University for all readers and users that we mention above. We mention all data of this university above i.e. contact numbers, admission notice, information address, all education courses and other important materials of this university. All users and candidates should save and book-mark our web-page for new notification in future and stay in up to date by our new posts of new universities

We advise to all readers to save our web-page for more updates………….!!!